Social comment through novels.
Students will explore the history of the novel and consider what makes a novel a classic.
Students will investigate the context of the production of a novel.
Students will review their understanding of the generic conventions of a novel.
Use general search terms. You can choose the option of "Search other sources" and Oliver will search through a variety of resources. Choosing the "Advanced search" will allow you to limit to specific formats or collections e.g. Non-fiction narrative. Both of these options are right next to the search box:
Lord of the Flies by First published in 1954, Lord of the Flies is now recognised as a classic, one of the most celebrated and widely read of modern novels. This edition, includes an introduction and notes by Ian Gregor and Mark Kinkead-Weekes.
Lord of the Flies by MAXnotes offer a fresh look at masterpieces of literature, presented in a lively and interesting fashion. Written by literary experts who currently teach the subject, MAXnotes will enhance your understanding and enjoyment of the work. MAXnotes are designed to stimulate independent thought about the literary work by raising various issues and thought-provoking ideas and questions. MAXnotes cover the essentials of what one should know about each work, including an overall summary, character lists, an explanation and discussion of the plot, the work's historical context, illustrations to convey the mood of the work, and a biography of the author. Each chapter is individually summarized and analyzed, and has study questions and answers.
Lord of the flies by York notes offer expert guidance on understanding the question, planning an answer, writing about effects and using quotations, plus tips on spelling, punctuation and grammar. From text summaries to characters, themes, contexts, form, structure and language, all designed to help students reach their potential.
Understanding Lord of the Flies by A seemingly simple tale of schoolboys marooned on an island, Lord of the Flies has proven to be one of the most enigmatic and provocative pieces of literature ever published. This casebook probes the many layers of meaning in the novel, examining its literary, philosophical, historical, scientific, and religious significance. Beginning with a literary analysis that explores the universality of the novel's characters, the story is considered as subversion of the adventure tale, comparing it to such classics as Treasure Island and Robinson Crusoe. The full meaning of Lord of the Flies is further contextualized by tracing historical views on civilization, from the Victorian perspective, to the very real horrors of World War II.
CliffsNotes on Golding's Lord of the Flies by CliffsNotes on Lord of the Flies takes you on an exploration of William Golding's novel to the dark side of humanity, the savagery that underlies even the most civilized human beings. Follow Golding's group of young boys from hope to disaster and watch as they attempt to survive their uncivilized, unsupervised, and isolated environment. Includes character analyses, insightful essays, and chapter-by-chapter commentaries to ensure your safe passage through the rich symbolism of this novel. Other features that help you study include A brief synopsis of the novel A character map to help you see relationships among the characters A glossary that helps you get the most out of your reading An interactive quiz to test your knowledge Essay topics and review questions
Lord of the flies by Educational edition with revised and updated study notes.
Online encyclopaedias are great for short, concise and reliable information. It may be best to access these articles from the Online encyclopaedias page through the Hale portal. Don't forget Britannica has ready made citations for you to use.
 |
|
A online collection of magazine and newspaper articles as well as interview transcripts, images and videos. You can sort your results by publication, full text versions and even date. Online databases are available through the portal and many require specific login details.
Both EBSCOhost and Gale INFOTRAC have specialized databases so use these first.
Suggested articles would include:
“And in the middle of them, with filthy body, matted hair, and unwiped nose, Ralph
wept for the end of innocence, the darkness of man’s heart, and the fall through the air of the
true, wise friend called Piggy.”
“The thing is – fear can’t hurt you any more than a dream.”
Savageness and Society - Absence of Social norms - Progress of Civilisation - Absence of Laws - Power - Civilisation - Rules and Order - Civilisation - Weak and Strong
“We’ve got to have rules and obey them. After all, we’re not savages. “
Reference Generator It is important to provide evidence of using a variety of reliable resources. Use the online Reference Generator available through the Portal to create your citations. Make sure you alphabetically sort them afterwards. Click here for a Hale School guide to referencing.
REMEMBER! HALE USES HARVARD |
A sample bibliography for 3 resources suggested on this page would look like:
Florman, B 2013, Lord of the flies, LitCharts, viewed 5 June 2022, https://www.litcharts.com/lit/lord-of-the-flies
Green, J 2016, Lord of the Flies: Crash Course Literature 305, 4 August, viewed 5 June 2022, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WfNiQBXmPw8
Lord of the Flies 2022. Britannica School. Retrieved 5 June 2022, from https://school.eb.com.au/levels/high/article/Lord-of-the-Flies/485560
|
Contact Library 93479723 +61 8 93479723 |
Quick links |
Library hours: Mon- Fri 7.45am to 5.30pm (normal school day) |
