Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

11MED - 9/11 documentary (2002): Home

Featured books:


Use general search terms. You can choose the option of "Search other sources" and Oliver will search through a variety of resources. Choosing the "Advanced search" will allow you to limit to specific formats or collections e.g. Non-fiction narrative. Both of these options are right next to the search box:

Infographics:

 

Getty Images slideshow:

 US President George W. Bush has his early morning school reading event interrupted by his Chief of Staff Andrew Card (L) 11 September, 2001, shortly after news of the New York City airplane crashes was available in Sarasota, Florida.

 A survivor sits outside the World Trade Center after two planes hit the building September 11, 2001 in New York City. 

New York City firefighters take a rest at the World Trade Center after two hijacked planes crashed into the Twin Towers September 11, 2001 in New York. 

NEW YORK CITY - SEPTEMBER 11: People scramble for cover under a shower of debris after the World Trade Center is struck in a terrorist attack on September 11, 2001 in New York City. A hijacked American Airlines Boeing 767, originating from Boston's Logan Airport, struck 1 World Trade Center (north tower) at 8:45 a.m. At 9:03 a.m., a United Airlines 767, also hijacked in Boston, crashed into 2 World Trade Center (south tower). Both towers later collapsed.

Spectators look up as the World Trade Center goes up in flames September 11, 2001 in New York City after two airplanes slammed into the twin towers in an alleged terrorist attack. (

Fireman calling for 10 more rescue workers to make their way into the rubble of the World Trade Center during rescue operations in wake of terrorist attack.

Firefighter Tony James cries while attending the funeral service for New York Fire Department Chaplain Rev. Mychal Judge, in front of the St. Francis of Assisi Church September 15, 2001 in New York City. Judge died while giving the last rites to a fireman in the collapse of the World Trade Center. The World Trade Center was destroyed after both the landmark towers were struck by two hijacked planes in a terrorist attack on September 11.

Retired Fire Chief Joseph Curry barks orders to rescue teams as they clear through debris that was once the World Trade Center September 14, 2001 in New York City.

Assistant Chief Gerard A. Barbara looks up at the burning towers of the World Trade Center on September 11, 2001 in New York City. Moments later he would go in, never to return. Barbara, 53, was citywide tour commander and a 30-year veteran of the department.

A woman reads a copy of an evening newspaper reporting the terrorist attacks on the United States on an underground train September 11, 2001 in London. 

Robert Peraza, who lost his son Robert David Peraza, pauses at his son's name at the North Pool of the 9/11 Memorial during tenth anniversary ceremonies at the site of the World Trade Center on September 11, 2011, in New York City. New York City and the nation are preparing to commemorate the 10th anniversary of the 9/11 terrorist attacks on lower Manhattan which resulted in the deaths of 2,753 people after two hijacked planes crashed into the World Trade Center.

Firefighters remove a victim after the World Trade Center was struck in a terrorist attack on September 11, 2001 in New York City. A hijacked American Airlines Boeing 767, originating from Boston's Logan Airport, struck 1 World Trade Center (north tower) at 8:45 a.m. At 9:03 a.m., a United Airlines 767, also hijacked in Boston, crashed into 2 World Trade Center (south tower). 

Toni Ann Costa mourns the victims of the World Trade Center disaster September 14, 2001 at a memorial in Union Square Park in New York City. The World Trade Center towers collapsed September 11th after two hijacked commercial airliners slammed into it.

New York, N.Y.: Workers continue to clean up the rubble and wreckage and ground zero at the World Trade Center on October 18, 2001 after the terrorist attacks on September 11, 2001. 

Firefighter walks through the rubble of the World Trade Center after it was struck by a commercial airliner in a terrorist attack.

A police officer (R) and others walk in the streets covered in debris near the World Trade Center towers 11 September, 2001, in New York.

Walking to Brooklyn

A rail commuter reads the ''Evening Standard'' September 13, 2001 on his way home from London after after two hijacked airplanes slammed into the World Trade Center in New York as part of a suspected terrorist attack on New York City and Washington DC September 11, 2001. 

FDNY firefighter, Dan Potter, pauses on a bench in Lower Manhattan after the collapse of the World Trade Center on Sept. 11, 2001.

Online encyclopaedia:

Online encyclopaedias are great for short, concise and reliable information. It may be best to access these articles from the Online encyclopaedias page through the Hale portal. Don't forget Britannica has ready made citations for you to use.



 
  • Variety of reading levels
  • Quality resources including text, images, videos and ‘Web’s Best Sites’
  • Read aloud facility
  • Size your font up or down
  • Ready-made citation

Online databases:

A online collection of magazine and newspaper articles as well as interview transcripts, images and videos. You can sort your results by publication, full text versions and even date. Online databases are available through the portal and many require specific login details.

Both EBSCOhost and Gale INFOTRAC have specialized databases so use these first. 

Suggested articles would include:

Search EBSCOhost online database:

Research databases
Limit Your Results

Stereotypes & tropes:

Newspaper coverage of 9/11 attacks:

12/09/2001

12/09/2001

9/11/2001

12/09/2001

12/09/2001

12/09/2001

12/09/2001

12/09/2001

12/09/2001

12/09/2001

12/09/2001

12/09/2001

02/05/2011

02/05/2011

12/09/2011

Documentary:

Full documentary: A real life documentary following the events of September 11 from an insider's view, through the lens of James Hanlon and two French filmmakers who were in Manhattan that one day.

Tabbed box - change header to topic:

Antonio (Tony) Benetatos:

Reference Generator:

Reference Generator It is important to provide evidence of using a variety of reliable resources. Use the online Reference Generator available through the Portal to create your citations. Make sure you alphabetically sort them afterwards. Click here for a Hale School guide to referencing.

REMEMBER! HALE USES HARVARD

A sample bibliography for 3 resources suggested on this page would look like:

Documentary film 2022. Britannica School. Retrieved 28 July 2022, from https://school.eb.com.au/levels/high/article/documentary-film/30760

'9/11' (2021) in Gale In Context Online Collection, Detroit, MI: Gale, available: https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/DHVVUJ143664070/SUIC?u=61wa_hale&sid=bookmark-SUIC&xid=85b41fe9 [accessed 28 Jul 2022].

Tribune Content Agency (2021) Terror from the Sky [photograph], available: https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/JLPTJB637360208/SUIC?u=61wa_hale&sid=bookmark-SUIC&xid=25775285 [accessed 28 Jul 2022].

Forrest Library hours and contact details

Contact

Library 93479723

+61 8 93479723

Quick links

Portal

Catalogue

LibGuides index

Report a problem

Library hours:

Mon- Fri 7.45am to 5.30pm (normal school day)