Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Forrest Library FAQ: Home

Welcome. We love your curiosity

What do I need to borrow?

Your SmartRider is your Library card!

If you do not have your SmartRider on you, please use your student diary as ID and we will help you borrow items at the Issue Desk

What do you have?:

Take time to browse the catalogue and the drop down Library menu on the Portal. Please fill out a request form if you would like us to buy something you want in our Library. Copies of this form are available at the front issue desk.

     PRINT     

DIGITAL

Information books Encyclopaediae
Senior fiction LibGuides
Young adult fiction WebLinks
Picture books Databases 
Graphic novels eBooks
Magazines ClickView videos
Audiobooks Digital audiobooks 
DVDs NoveList Reader's Advisory 
Biographies Reference Generator
   

Use general search terms. You can also choose the option of "Search other sources" and Oliver will search through a variety of resources. Choosing the "Advanced search" will allow you to limit to specific formats or collections e.g. Non-fiction narrative. Both of these options are right next to the search box:

Who can I ask for help?

Mrs Geddes

bg@hale.wa.edu.au

Mrs Lawless

elizabethl@hale.wa.edu.au

 

 

Mrs Roberts

jr@hale.wa.edu.au

 

Mrs Clarke

kellyc@hale.wa.edu.au

 

Mr von Retzlaff

lotharv@hale.wa.edu.au

 

What are some reading suggestions?

New items arrive regularly so make sure you visit us to browse the Recent Arrival shelves. 

Reader's advice:

NoveList, is our newest resource. It is the complete readers' advisory solution, engages readers and connects communities. Do you find it difficult to find READ-ALIKES? Similar authors? Similar titles? This is the solution.

Do you have online encyclopaediae?

Online encyclopaedias are great for flexible, concise and reliable topic overviews. Ready made citations are available which are a huge bonus for all those pesky citations your boys will have to provide.



 
  • Variety of reading levels
  • Quality resources including text, images, videos and ‘Web’s Best Sites’
  • Read aloud facility
  • Size your font up or down
  • Ready-made citation

 

Access online encyclopaediae through the Hale Portal under Library:

What about online news and magazine articles?

Access these through the

Hale Portal—Library—Online Databases

Huge digital collections including:

Full text from reference books

Non-fiction books

Magazines & newspapers

Biographies

Television and radio transcripts

Photographs and maps

Specialist collections include:

 Opposing Viewpoints Centre

Science Reference Centre

Literature Resource Centre

You can sort your results by publication, full text versions and even date. 

There is a list of online tutorials specific to the databases or ask Forrest Library staff to give you a quick overview. Advanced searches may help you refine your search terms further. You may also be able to download the content to access later as well as an audio version to share with your students. Most online databases will have the ability to filter and sort your searches e.g. by date, by document type, by full text etc.

Search EBSCOhost online database:

Research databases
Limit Your Results

Points of View Reference Centre:

Points of View Reference Centre:
  • presents multiple sides of an argument
  • aimed at helping students develop persuasive arguments
  • provides overviews of controversial issues

Tick the "Full Text" box if you need the full article and not just a brief summary.

Australian/NZ Points of View
Limit Your Results

One-stop Search:

Research databases
Limit Your Results
Google Web Search

YouTube

Reference Generator

It is important for your students to provide evidence of using a variety of reliable resources. Get them to use the online Reference Generator available through the Portal to create citations. Hale uses the Harvard Referencing System. Feel free to ask us to visit your classroom to demonstrate bibliography construction basics.

Click here for a Hale School guide to referencing

What is Homework Club?

Is there a Book Club?

When are you open?

What are LibGuides?

What can I borrow?

How do I use the self-check out?

What happens if I lose a book?

Cambridge Library eMembership:

 

Collect an application form from Forrest Library or print a copy. Return with parent permission and we will do the rest. Check out their digital resources here including ebooks, emagazines, digital audio and more.

Chess sets are available for use:

Printing:

Reading Enrichment: