Skip to main content

Spring 2020 Senior Reading Suggestions: Home

A selection of new arrivals in the library for your reading pleasure.

Fantastic Fiction is an incredibly useful website that allows you to search over 50,000 bibliographies of bestselling fiction authors.  You can:

* Search for your favourite authors and see their latest books

* See the correct order to read their books, which is particularly useful when you want to read a series in the correct order

* See your favourite authors reading recommendations

Click for some historical fiction suggestions:

Click for some book club suggestions:

Kelly Clarke's Suggestions

I have been an avid reader of both crime fiction and true crime since I was 12 years old.  Instead of riding my bike with friends on the weekend, I would be found lying on my bed reading books about serial killers and scaring myself stupid.  I am fascinated with the criminal mind and how it works.  So much so that while I was studying to become a Librarian at university I completed my minor studies in criminology and criminal behaviour.

Crime is still the most popular genre amongst adult readers.  I have created this column to share my love of reading crime books with you all.  Below is a selection of some of my favourites which I hope you will enjoy.

Fiji, July 2019 - My idea of the perfect holiday read.  The latest book by former FBI Profiler John Douglas recounting his time conducting prison interviews with convicted serial killers!

We can gather together suitable books, magazine articles, videos and websites for any topic outline you give us. So just ask! Recent examples include:

We also encourage you to join Cambridge Library eMembership as this will give you access to online resources, digital audio and emagazines. Just fill out a membership application form available at the front desk of Forrest Library and we will do the rest on your behalf.

For example:

Forrest Library has a collection of online databases that provide access to:

  • Popular magazines and scholarly journals
  • Current newspapers and newswires
  • Television and radio transcripts
  • Audio and video clips
  • Photographs and pictures

Can browse by publication name e.g. Choice, Australian Gourmet Traveler or general topic e.g. bicycling. Endless opportunities for the family genealogist to sift through archived publications to solve family mysteries.

ClickView is handy even over the holidays. Firstly it may fill in gaps where you have missed a series and even has limited Foxtel content. You also have access to a workspace where you can save up to 20G of video content to watch later (traveling with children  overseas on a budget anyone?). Sign on using your school email and your normal laptop password.

Check the TV Guide:

The ClickView TV Guide brings you the best recommendations for educational programmes from free to air television, saving you time and energy. Every fortnight the ClickView Curation Team will look ahead in the free to air broadcasting schedule and find programmes that are relevant to your classroom. If you've requested a programme, it will automatically be added to your Workspace with the ads removed when it airs.You can even browse by channels.

NoveList, is our newest resource. It is the complete readers' advisory solution, engages readers and connects communities. Do you find it difficult to find READ-ALIKES? Similar authors? Similar titles? This is the solution.

Thousands of movies streaming for free, thanks to the generous support of your public library. Use your public library membership to create an accountKanopy partners with public libraries and universities to bring you an ad-free films and series that can be enjoyed on your TV, mobile phone, tablet and online. Click here to browse their catalogue.  I am impressed with their collection of documentaries. Titles include:

Kanopy Kids is a collection of movies and shows for kids available in public libraries only. Your public library offers unlimited plays in Kanopy Kids, so your kids are free to explore enriching, educational and entertaining films and TV series. Click here to check out Kanopy Kids!

Spotify audio:

From Rudyard Kipling read by Ralph Fiennes to Late Night Tales read by Benedict Cumberbatch. Search for many more collections. For example:

Literary Award Winners:

Finally have that block of extended reading time for a challenging title? Try a literary award winner. There are many lists but this general site will give you some choices to search for using Forrest Library catalogue. Please feel free to complete a purchase request if you want us to consider buying a title for our collection. These are available from the front issue desk. 

LITERARY PRIZE WINNERS FROM 2020

NoveList will also list literary award winners you might like to consider. You can directly search our catalogue for titles we offer in Forrest Library. For example:

Picture books for the young ones:

Need some new picture books to read at bedtime for the young ones? Browse through our collection.

Have you tried LIbriVox? It provides free public domain audiobooks read by volunteers from around the world. Classics, mysteries, fairy tales etc. For example:


Short on time? Then grab a short story which aims to be read in one sitting. There are many collections available through Forrest Library. Just look for the sticker that say "SHORT STORIES". There are also many online collections. For example:

Contact

Library 93479723

+61 8 93479723

Quick links

Portal

Catalogue

LibGuides index

Report a problem

Library hours:

Mon- Fri 7.45am to 5.30pm (normal school day)