Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Autumn 2021 Senior Reading Suggestions: Home

Here are a selection of new library books for your reading pleasure.

Click here to look for more:

Click for a selection of recent biographies:

Click for a collection of book adaptions:

Click here for some PM's Literary Award 2020 titles:

Click here for some book club suggestions:

We can gather together suitable books, magazine articles, videos and websites for any topic outline you give us. So just ask! Recent examples include:

In the last school holidays I saw two movies at the cinema.  Not only were both movies very enjoyable to watch, they were also Australian movies that were based on Australian books.  The first was "The Dry" based on the fiction book by Jane Harper and starring Eric Bana.  It was set in the Australian countryside and was about two murders, one committed recently and one committed 20 years ago.  Eric Bana plays the main character Aaron Falk perfectly.  The second movie was called "Penguin Bloom" and is based on the biography by Cameron Bloom.  This movie stars Naomi Watts and is about a magpie called Penguin.  This cute little magpie comes into the life of the Bloom family while Cameron's wife Sam is recovering from a broken back and struggling with life.  You might want the tissue box for this one but it was an exceptionally good movie.

Both books are available in the library.

Book Series in Order is a website run by a man named Graeme who works with librarians to build the best resource for book series in order.  There are over 18,000 listing currently on here and they are adding to them every day.  I find this particular website really useful for young adult authors.

ClickView is handy even over the holidays. Firstly it may fill in gaps where you have missed a series and even has limited Foxtel content. You also have access to a workspace where you can save up to 20G of video content to watch later (traveling with children overseas on a budget anyone?). Sign on using your school email and your normal laptop password.

Top Gun : Maverick will be out in cinemas later this year.  In readiness for the much anticipated sequel to the massively popular 80's movie (well I'm certainly excited!), you may wish to watch the movie again and remind yourself of how awesome it was.

Just in case you can't get enough of Tom Cruise movies, here is another one!  The cast is unbelievable, you would never get a line up of stars like this today, which is why I love the 80's so much.  Based on the novel by S.E. Hinton this movie is about the "greasers" (the outsiders) and the "socs" (the rich kids).  It is a coming of age movie, and having only just recently watched it again, it really is a great movie.

Check the TV Guide:

The ClickView TV Guide brings you the best recommendations for educational programmes from free to air television, saving you time and energy. Every fortnight the ClickView Curation Team will look ahead in the free to air broadcasting schedule and find programmes that are relevant to your classroom. If you've requested a programme, it will automatically be added to your Workspace with the ads removed when it airs.  You can even browse by channels.

Cambridge eMembership:

We also encourage you to create a Cambridge Library eMembership as this will give you access to online resources, digital audio and emagazines. Just fill out a membership application form available at the front desk of Forrest Library and we will do the rest on your behalf.

For example:

Forrest Library has a collection of online databases that provide access to:

  • Popular magazines and scholarly journals
  • Current newspapers and newswires
  • Television and radio transcripts
  • Audio and video clips
  • Photographs and pictures

Can browse by publication name e.g. Choice, Australian Gourmet Traveler or general topic e.g. bicycling. Endless opportunities for the family genealogist to sift through archived publications to solve family mysteries.

Have you tried LibriVox? It provides free public domain audiobooks read by volunteers from around the world. Classics, mysteries, fairy tales etc. For example:


Short on time? Then grab a short story which aims to be read in one sitting. There are many collections available through Forrest Library. Just look for the sticker that say "SHORT STORIES". There are also many online collections. For example:

There are also many free ebooks and audiobooks available online:

Lastly, never underestimate the power of learning something new yourself:


 

Reader's advice:

NoveList, is our newest resource. It is the complete readers' advisory solution, engages readers and connects communities. Do you find it difficult to find READ-ALIKES? Similar authors? Similar titles? This is the solution.

Kanopy for free streaming videos:

Thousands of movies streaming for free, thanks to the generous support of your public library. Use your public library membership to create an accountKanopy partners with public libraries and universities to bring you an ad-free films and series that can be enjoyed on your TV, mobile phone, tablet and online. Click here to browse their catalogue.  I am impressed with their collection of documentaries. Titles include:

  • Darkest hour
  • You were never really here
  • Lady Bird

Kanopy Kids is a collection of movies and shows for kids available in public libraries only. Your public library offers unlimited plays in Kanopy Kids, so your kids are free to explore enriching, educational and entertaining films and TV series. Click here to check out Kanopy Kids!

Spotify audio:

From Rudyard Kipling read by Ralph Fiennes to Late Night Tales read by Benedict Cumberbatch. Search for many more collections. For example:

Literary Award Winners:

Finally have that block of extended reading time for a challenging title? Try a literary award winner. There are many lists but this general site will give you some choices to search for using Forrest Library catalogue. Please feel free to complete a purchase request if you want us to consider buying a title for our collection. These are available from the front issue desk. 

LITERARY PRIZE WINNERS FROM 2020

NoveList will also list literary award winners you might like to consider. You can directly search our catalogue for titles we offer in Forrest Library. For example:

Contact

Library 93479723

+61 8 93479723

Quick links

Portal

Catalogue

LibGuides index

Report a problem

Library hours:

Mon- Fri 7.45am to 5.30pm (normal school day)