TASK: Produce a multimodal text using Power Point Mix that analyses one iconic or well-known image of your choice. Your presentation should act as a study tool for Year 11 students. Length ~ 5-7 mins.
A transcript of the spoken parts of your speech must be submitted to Turnitin by the due date.
Please avoid using images for which packages of work have been created by the Hale English teachers. Confirm your image choice with your teacher before you create your presentation.
Helping photojournalists give voice to those who go unheard, foster understanding and expose social injustice for 25 years. Check their photo stories' section as they will give you some background information on the issue that collection of images is focusing on.
Online encyclopaedias are great for short, concise and reliable information. It may be best to access these articles from the Online encyclopaedias page through the Hale portal. Don't forget Britannica has ready made citations for you to use.
Suggested articles include:
Pictures of the Year International (POYi) is the oldest and most prestigious photojournalism program in the world. The mission of POYi is to serve as a professional development program for visual journalists and promote excellence in photojournalism. Check out "The Best of POYI" video.
Look back at some of the photographs that have helped define modern history.
AP Images is the world's largest collection of historical and contemporary photos. AP Images provides instant access to AP's iconic editorial photos of today's breaking news, celebrity portraits by renowned Invision photographers and historical images across all genres.
The EBSCOhost Image Collection database consists of more than 1 million total images in these categories, broken down as follows:
The images consist of a wide array of photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other areas of coverage include contemporary and historical photos of people, places, and the natural kingdom.
A user may access the Image Collection databases by clicking the Images/video button on the toolbar at the top of the EBSCOhost screen. You have the option of filtering your results by various categories including:
Upon searching, you will receive a Result List, which will include citation information as well as thumbnail images. Clicking on any thumbnail image will display the full size image. Images can then be printed or saved.
A copyright statement appears at the bottom of the page for each image.
WARNING: Graphic content
We know a picture often says more than a thousand words ever could. This News.com article presents some of the iconic images that not only remain seared in the hearts and minds of many, long after they were captured, but which managed to change the course of history.
Photographs do more than document history — they make it. At TED University, Jonathan Klein of Getty Images shows some of the most iconic, and talks about what happens when a generation sees an image so powerful it can't look away — or back.
The Pulitzer Prizes site contains the complete list of Pulitzer Prize winners from 1917 (the first year the Prizes were awarded) to the present. These are some examples of breaking news photography in black and white or colour. You could also check the category of Feature Photography.
It is important to provide evidence of using a variety of reliable resources. Use the online Reference Generator available through the Portal to create your citations. Make sure you alphabetically sort them afterwards. Click here for a Hale School guide to referencing.
REMEMBER! HALE USES HARVARD
A sample bibliography for 3 resources suggested on this page would look like:
Tank Man at 25: Behind the Iconic Tiananmen Square Photo 2014, Time magazine, accessed 29 March 2016, <http://time.com/2822322/iconic-tiananmen-tank-man-photo/>.
Tiananmen Square incident 2016. Britannica School. Retrieved 29 March 2016, from http://school.eb.com.au/levels/high/article/475782
Widener, J 1989, Tiananmen Square: Chinese man blocking a line of tanks during demonstrations in Tiananmen Square, June 5, 1989, Photograph, Britannica School, accessed 29 March 2016, <http://school.eb.com.au/levels/high/article/475782#>.