Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

12GTHBY1 - Infectious Disease: Ross River Fever

This unit explores the causes and spread of disease and how humans respond to invading pathogens. Disease is caused by various pathogens that are transmitted between individuals and populations in many different ways.

Online database

EBSCOhost online database: Offers a broad range of full text and bibliographic databases designed for research. Some information to start your research includes:

  • Ross River Virus by Cleo Westhorpe, Teacher of Global Connection and Geography, Melbourne Girls Grammar

Check the most recent newspaper and magazine articles from Australia regarding Ross River Fever.

Hints:

  • Add limits to Source Types (Left hand side) e.g. Newspapers (Domestic) and Magazines (Domestic)
  • Sort results under Relevance - Date Newest

PDF document

A Management Guide for General Practitioners Environmental Health Guide: This management guide provides a summary of the epidemiology, clinical features, diagnosis, management and prognosis if Ross River virus (RRV) disease. RRV is a virus that occurs in nature in environmentally-driven cycles between mosquitoes and animals (including humans). It is transmitted only by mosquitoes and cannot be caught from direct contact with another person or animal.

Mixed media - YouTube

Infographic

Reference generator

It is important that you show your teacher you used a variety of reliable resources. Use the online Reference Generator available through the Portal to create your citations. Make sure you alphabetically sort them afterwards.

A sample bibliography for 3 resources provided on this page would look like:

 

A Management Guide For General Practitioners Environmental Health Guide 2006, department of Health, Western Australia, Pdf, accessed 15 June 2016, <http://www.public.health.wa.gov.au/cproot/1000/2/

ross_river_virus_disease_management_guide_for_gp.pdf>.

Queensland Health 2015, Ross River Virus update 12 May 2015, online video, 11 May, accessed 15 June 2016, <https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6APGbtUH0Ls>.

Westhorpe, C 2014, 'Ross River Virus', Geodate, vol. 27, no. 3, pp. 4-6.