Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Geography Subject Guide: Home

Featured Print Resources

Encyclopaedias

Online encyclopaedias are great for concise and correct overviews. 



 
  • Variety of reading levels
  • Quality resources including text, images, videos and ‘Web’s Best Sites’
  • Read aloud facility
  • Size your font up or down
  • Ready-made citation

Clickview

ClickView offers a large selection of video content from free to air channels and selected Foxtel content. Search by keywords or browse through their subject collections e.g. Geography. Once you have found something you can stream it or save it to watch later on your Workspace (1G free online storage). You may also save to your local device.

Forrest Catalogue

Search the Forrest Library Catalogue using general search terms to find information books about your geography topic:

Alternatively you can browse the shelves using Dewey to guide you:

Dewey Subject
333.7 Sustainability
333.9 Water
577 Biomes
551 Physical Geography
551 Weather and climate
910 Geography
919 Australian Geography

Britannica Overview

Need some help in effectively using Britannica? Check out this overview:

Advanced Google Searches

Make sure you use Advanced Google or try out handy Google modifiers.

One Stop Search Box

Research databases
Limit Your Results
Google Web Search

YouTube

Websites

Dictionaries and Atlases

Databases

EBSCOhost online database: Offers a broad range of full text and bibliographic databases designed for research. 

Hints:

  • Add limits to Source Types (Left hand side) e.g. Newspapers (Domestic) and Magazines (Domestic)
  • Sort results under Relevance - Date Newest

eLibrary offers full-text documents in many media types including • Popular magazines and scholarly journals • Current newspapers and newswires • Television and radio transcripts • Audio and video clips • Photographs and pictures • Maps from more than a dozen sources • Reference books • Educator-reviewed editor's choice websites . This resource pool updates daily, ensuring access to the very latest information. Searches may be limited to Australian sources only. 

EBSCOhost Database Tutorials

Interactive maps







Reference Generator

It is important to show your teacher you used a variety of reliable resources. Use the online Reference Generator available through the Portal to create your citations. Make sure you alphabetically sort them afterwards.

A sample bibliography for 3 resources listed on this page would look like:

Google Search Operators & Commands n.d., Chart, SlideShare, accessed 14 September 2016, <http://image.slidesharecdn.com/googlesearchoperatorlix-ray-140923031955-phpapp02/95/google-search-operator-li-x-ray-2-638.jpg?cb=1411442897>.

Green, J 2013, World History CrashCourse, online video, 3 September 2013, accessed 14 September 2016, <https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLBDA2E52FB1EF80C9>.

National Library of Australia n.d., TROVE, Australian Government, accessed 14 September 2016, <http://trove.nla.gov.au/>.