Skip to main content

12ATPAE - Philosophy and Ethics: Home

12ATPAE - Philosophy and Ethics

An Introduction to Philosophy

ATPAE – Year 12 units, 2020:

Philosophical thought shapes what people think, what they value, what they consider to be true, and how they engage with others and the world around them. It is one of the foundations of all academic disciplines. It seeks to shed light on questions, such as: what is real? What and how do we understand? How should we live? What is it to be human? And who am I? It deals with issues and problems that cannot be addressed adequately by appealing to experience and experiment alone. Philosophical inquiry requires that we question our assumptions, beliefs and our reasons for holding them. The ATAR Philosophy and Ethics course aims to empower students to make independent judgements based on reason.

Unit 3 - Reason and society. This unit enables students to examine the mapping of arguments; the philosophy of science, humanism; individualism and social identity; the ideals of a good society; and the ideals of politics and government.

Unit 4 - Reason and meaning.  This unit enables students to examine complex arguments; higher‐order systems of philosophical inquiry; ways of understanding the relationship between religion and science; and ethical issues of life and death.

Task:

Listed below is the Unit and assessment Outlines for the Year 12 Course

Featured books:


Use general search terms. You can choose the option of "Search other sources" and Oliver will search through a variety of resources. Choosing the "Advanced search" will allow you to limit to specific formats or collections e.g. Non-fiction narrative. Both of these options are right next to the search box:

Interactives:

Find a quiz or an interactive map. Introduce a poll. Encourage students to become involved with their topic. Suggested quiz sites include:

Which philosopher do you consider the most influential in terms on how we make sense of the world
Aristotle: 1 votes (33.33%)
Socrates: 0 votes (0%)
Karl Marx: 0 votes (0%)
Thomas Aquinas: 0 votes (0%)
Confuscius: 0 votes (0%)
Jean-Jacques Rousseau: 2 votes (66.67%)
Plato: 0 votes (0%)
Immanual Kant: 0 votes (0%)
John Locke: 0 votes (0%)
Renee Descartes: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 3

Online encyclopaedia:

Online encyclopaedias are great for short, concise and reliable information. It may be best to access these articles from the Online encyclopaedias page through the Hale portal. Don't forget Britannica has ready made citations for you to use.



 
  • Variety of reading levels
  • Quality resources including text, images, videos and ‘Web’s Best Sites’
  • Read aloud facility
  • Size your font up or down
  • Ready-made citation

One-stop Search

Research databases
Limit Your Results
Google Web Search

YouTube

Online databases:

A online collection of magazine and newspaper articles as well as interview transcripts, images and videos. You can sort your results by publication, full text versions and even date. Online databases are available through the portal and many require specific login details.

Both EBSCOhost and Gale INFOTRAC have specialized databases so use these first. 

Suggested articles would include:

Philpapers: Online Research about Philosophy

Search EBSCOhost online database:

Research databases
Limit Your Results

Search Points of View Reference Centre

Australian/NZ Points of View
Limit Your Results
  • presents multiple sides of an argument
  • aimed at helping you develop persuasive arguments
  • provides overviews of controversial issues

Tick the "Full Text" box if you need the full article and not just a brief summary.

Infographics:

See this extensive infographic that details the main philosophers throughout history.

Do you know who these philosophers are?

Ethics Resources

The list below provides examples of dilemmas that can help stimulate your thinking about making ethical decisions. Check them out and consider how you would deal with each situtaion.

Search Google:

Google Web Search

It is important to refine your search terms as your understandings grow and information gaps become more obvious. Make sure you regularly review your focus questions or task sheet guidelines. It is best to use Google Advanced Search to narrow your search further and save yourself time. Employ some advanced Google modifiers to avoid wasting time.

Here are some key philosophy terms from the syllabus that you could search:

rationalism intuitionism empericism phenomenology
naturalism materialism atheism agnosticism
humanism utilitarianism deontolgy moral obligation
meta-ethics political philosophy evolution socialism
liberalism libertarianism utopia dystopia
existentialism atheism sceptical doubt  

Search YouTube:

YouTube

Reference Generator:

It is important to provide evidence of using a variety of reliable resources. Use the online Reference Generator available through the Portal to create your citations. Make sure you alphabetically sort them afterwards. Click here for a Hale School guide to referencing.

REMEMBER! HALE USES HARVARD

A sample bibliography for 3 resources suggested on this page would look like:

Three examples of correctly formatted citations

Here are three references for Philosophy resources

Academy of Ideas (2013) Ideas of Socrates. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uvY3VWe4O4k (Accessed: 10 September 2020)

Charlesworth, M. (2007) Philosophy for Beginners. St Lucia, QLD: OUP

Socrates 2020. Britannica School. Retrieved 10 September 2020, from https://school.eb.com.au/levels/high/article/Socrates/68482

Forrest Library hours and contact details

Contact

Library 93479723

+61 8 93479723

Quick links

Portal

Catalogue

LibGuides index

Report a problem

Library hours:

Mon- Fri 7.45am to 5.30pm (normal school day)