Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Summer 2020 Senior Reading Suggestions: Home

A selection of new arrivals in the library for your reading pleasure.

Click for a selection of classic science fiction titles:

Click for a selection of books being adapted to movies in 2021:

Click for some end of the world suggestions:

Click here for a selection of biographies:

How often do you find a great author and read all of their books really quickly and then think "I want to read more books like that!"  Well, this website does exactly that.  Who Else Writes Like is an established reference web resource and reading promotion tool.  It is designed to help anyone who enjoys reading fiction to expand the number of writers they read.  Users can browse by genre or go straight to an author of interest, check up on characters or series and follow the links to author's websites.

Kelly Clarke's Suggestions:

I hope you are enjoying my new column.  I am pleased to have received plenty of positive feedback.  It has been very exciting to discover how many avid crime readers we actually have in the school.  I have created a new "Killer Reads" crime fiction and true crime display in the library foyer to promote our crime collection.  If you are interested in seeing what connection I have with notorious American serial killer Ted Bundy, make sure you come and check it out!

The only thing that is better than a great crime book is a great crime book written by an Australian author.  Below is a list of my top 5 favourite Australian crime authors.  Best of all we have plenty of their books in our collection:

Perth, August 2019 - I love nothing more than meeting my favourite authors and getting them to sign my books.  This is me with Australian crime author Michael Robotham.  He's very entertaining and an all round nice guy.

We can gather together suitable books, magazine articles, videos and websites for any topic outline you give us. So just ask! Recent examples include:

ClickView online:

ClickView is handy even over the holidays. Firstly it may fill in gaps where you have missed a series and even has limited Foxtel content. You also have access to a workspace where you can save up to 20G of video content to watch later. Below are some suggestions of television programmes and films that are on ClickView for you to watch.  Click on the image and you will be taken straight through to it.  Sign on using your school email and your normal laptop password.

Check the TV Guide:

The ClickView TV Guide brings you the best recommendations for educational programmes from free to air television, saving you time and energy. Every fortnight the ClickView Curation Team will look ahead in the free to air broadcasting schedule and find programmes that are relevant to your classroom. If you've requested a programme, it will automatically be added to your Workspace with the ads removed when it airs.You can even browse by channels.

Cambridge eMembership:

We also encourage you to create a Cambridge Library eMembership as this will give you access to online resources, digital audio and emagazines. Just fill out a membership application form available at the front desk of Forrest Library and we will do the rest on your behalf.

For example:

Forrest Library has a collection of online databases that provide access to:

  • Popular magazines and scholarly journals
  • Current newspapers and newswires
  • Television and radio transcripts
  • Audio and video clips
  • Photographs and pictures

Have you tried LibriVox? It provides free public domain audiobooks read by volunteers from around the world. Classics, mysteries, fairy tales etc. For example:


Short on time? Then grab a short story which aims to be read in one sitting. There are many collections available through Forrest Library. Just look for the sticker that say "SHORT STORIES". There are also many online collections. For example:

There are also many free ebooks and audiobooks available online:

Lastly, never underestimate the power of learning something new yourself:

Reader's advice:

NoveList, is our newest resource. It is the complete readers' advisory solution, engages readers and connects communities. Do you find it difficult to find READ-ALIKES? Similar authors? Similar titles? This is the solution.

Kanopy allows you to stream thousands of movies for free. Use your public library membership to create an account. Kanopy partners with public libraries and universities to bring you ad-free films and series that can be enjoyed on your TV, mobile phone, tablet and online. Click here to browse their catalogue.  Titles include:

  • Tortilla soup
  • The great white hoax
  • The dressmaker

Kanopy Kids is a collection of movies and shows for kids available in public libraries only. Your public library offers unlimited plays in Kanopy Kids, so your kids are free to explore enriching, educational and entertaining films and TV series. Click here to check out Kanopy Kids!

From Rudyard Kipling read by Ralph Fiennes to Late Night Tales read by Benedict Cumberbatch. Search for many more collections. For example:

Finally have that block of extended reading time for a challenging title? Try a literary award winner. There are many lists but this general site will give you some choices to search for using Forrest Library catalogue. Please feel free to complete a purchase request if you want us to consider buying a title for our collection. These are available from the front issue desk. 

LITERARY PRIZE WINNERS FROM 2020

NoveList will also list literary award winners you might like to consider. You can directly search our catalogue for titles we offer in Forrest Library. For example:

Click for a selection of literary award winners: