Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ATGEO - New York City - Traffic Congestion: Home

A collection of suggested resources for this case study

Task:

  • Outline the nature, scope and impact of traffic congestion in New York
  • Describe one KEY planning strategy used in New York City adopted to address traffic congestion
  • Evaluate how this planning strategy enhances sustainability and liveability in New York City

Featured books:

Please add 5 books from the catalogue suited to this topic. Consider making purchase suggestions so that we can current print resources. When adding book from the catalogue please remove the ISBN and sort the list by call number to facilitate shelf location.


Use general search terms. You can choose the option of "Search other sources" and Oliver will search through a variety of resources. Choosing the "Advanced search" will allow you to limit to specific formats or collections e.g. Non-fiction narrative. Both of these options are right next to the search box:

Infographics:

Add 2-3 interesting graphics with a link going to the full online version if possible. Highlight one or two salient points the viewer should not miss.

Slideshow:

Interactives:

Find a quiz or an interactive map. Introduce a poll. Encourage students to become involved with their topic. Suggested quiz sites include:

Is there an interactive ClickView video you could create or highlight? I often search "student interactive" with the topic to see what pops up. ReadWriteThink has a whole collection of organizers which might apply. There might be a pre-made timeline, virtual tour or 3D panorama. 

Which is the top Ancient Greek invention you couldn't live without?
Olympic Games: 1 votes (33.33%)
Maps: 0 votes (0%)
Music: 0 votes (0%)
Theatre: 0 votes (0%)
Alarm clock: 0 votes (0%)
Democracy: 2 votes (66.67%)
Mathematics: 0 votes (0%)
Wheelbarrow: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 3

Advanced image search:

Online encyclopaedia:

Online encyclopaedias are great for short, concise and reliable information. It may be best to access these articles from the Online encyclopaedias page through the Hale portal. Don't forget Britannica has ready made citations for you to use.



 
  • Variety of reading levels
  • Quality resources including text, images, videos and ‘Web’s Best Sites’
  • Read aloud facility
  • Size your font up or down
  • Ready-made citation

 

Suggested articles include:

Suggested articles: Make this a floating box

One-stop Search

Research databases
Limit Your Results
Google Web Search

YouTube

Online databases:

A online collection of magazine and newspaper articles as well as interview transcripts, images and videos. You can sort your results by publication, full text versions and even date. Online databases are available through the portal and many require specific login details.

Both EBSCOhost and Gale INFOTRAC have specialized databases so use these first. 

Suggested articles would include:

Search EBSCOhost online database:

Research databases
Limit Your Results

Search Points of View Reference Centre

Australian/NZ Points of View
Limit Your Results
  • presents multiple sides of an argument
  • aimed at helping you develop persuasive arguments
  • provides overviews of controversial issues

Tick the "Full Text" box if you need the full article and not just a brief summary.

Suggested websites:

Add a selection of quality links at an appropriate reading level. I prefer the summary information added as a hover text. This is where time and expertise is vital. Ask teachers for any of their favourites to include if possible. Check Weblinks. If you have a large list of contenders then consider sorting your links into multiple boxes.


 

Search Google:

Google Web Search

It is important to refine your search terms as your understandings grow and information gaps become more obvious. Make sure you regularly review your focus questions or task sheet guidelines. It is best to use Google Advanced Search to narrow your search further and save yourself time. Employ some advanced Google modifiers to avoid wasting time.

Suggested videos:

Perhaps embed 2 of the best videos but add any others as a link with a suitable thumbnail image of its source (width 30) from our shared image folder - web icons. The 'best' videos should be at the top of your list of suggestions.

Search YouTube:

YouTube

Tabbed box - change header to topic:

 

Could use a tabbed box to highlight a process or introduce main characters. Each tab has its its own rich content. 

 

Could add images or links. 

 

How about quotes and links to the sources?

 

These tabbed boxes are best for brief text or visual content. The training video talks about tabbed boxes at about 28:50 in.

Reference Generator:

It is important to provide evidence of using a variety of reliable resources. Use the online Reference Generator available through the Portal to create your citations. Make sure you alphabetically sort them afterwards. Click here for a Hale School guide to referencing.

REMEMBER! HALE USES HARVARD

A sample bibliography for 3 resources suggested on this page would look like:

3 correctly formatted citations - make this a floating box

  • Add your 3 correctly  formatted citations here
  • I cheat and use the ready made ones from encyclopaedias if available plus 1 other resource type e.g. image, YouTube etc.
  • Make sure you sort them alphabetically

Forrest Library hours and contact details

Contact

Library 93479723

+61 8 93479723

Quick links

Portal

Catalogue

LibGuides index

Report a problem

Library hours:

Mon- Fri 7.45am to 5.30pm (normal school day)