Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

10EN - Documentary Study: Blackfish

Suggested support materials

Aims:

The goal of this unit is for you to become an active audience member and be critical in your viewing – to not simply accept what is presented to you but to question and interrogate it, realise that documentaries present audiences with particular versions of their subject matter and understand that documentaries function to persuade audiences to accept the particular view of events which it offers.

Featured books:

Use general search terms. You can choose the option of "Search other sources" and Oliver will search through a variety of resources. Choosing the "Advanced search" will allow you to limit to specific formats or collections e.g. Non-fiction narrative. Both of these options are right next to the search box:

Infographics:

 

 

 

 

Online encyclopaedia:

Online encyclopaedias are great for short, concise and reliable information. It may be best to access these articles from the Online encyclopaedias page through the Hale portal. Don't forget Britannica has ready made citations for you to use.



 
  • Variety of reading levels
  • Quality resources including text, images, videos and ‘Web’s Best Sites’
  • Read aloud facility
  • Size your font up or down
  • Ready-made citation

Online databases:

A online collection of magazine and newspaper articles as well as interview transcripts, images and videos. You can sort your results by publication, full text versions and even date. Online databases are available through the portal and many require specific login details.

Both EBSCOhost and Gale INFOTRAC have specialized databases so use these first. 

Suggested articles would include:

ClickView videos:

Search EBSCOhost online database:

Research databases
Limit Your Results

Search Points of View Reference Centre

Australian/NZ Points of View
Limit Your Results
  • presents multiple sides of an argument
  • aimed at helping you develop persuasive arguments
  • provides overviews of controversial issues

Tick the "Full Text" box if you need the full article and not just a brief summary.

One-stop Search

Research databases
Limit Your Results
Google Web Search

YouTube

Search Google:

Google Web Search

It is important to refine your search terms as your understandings grow and information gaps become more obvious. Make sure you regularly review your focus questions or task sheet guidelines. It is best to use Google Advanced Search to narrow your search further and save yourself time. Employ some advanced Google modifiers to avoid wasting time.

Reference Generator:

Reference Generator It is important to provide evidence of using a variety of reliable resources. Use the online Reference Generator available through the Portal to create your citations. Make sure you alphabetically sort them afterwards. Click here for a Hale School guide to referencing.

REMEMBER! HALE USES HARVARD

A sample bibliography for 3 resources suggested on this page would look like:

Animal rights 2021. Britannica School. Retrieved 29 April 2021, from https://school.eb.com.au/levels/high/article/animal-rights/7642

Killer whale 2021. Britannica School. Retrieved 29 April 2021, from https://school.eb.com.au/levels/middle/article/killer-whale/45439

Wood, C 1995, ‘A whale of a debate’, Maclean’s, vol. 108, no. 19, p. 62, viewed 29 April 2021, <http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=anh&AN=9505097708&site=ehost-live>.

 

Contact

Library 93479723

+61 8 93479723

Quick links

Portal

Catalogue

LibGuides index

Report a problem

Library hours:

Mon- Fri 7.45am to 5.30pm (normal school day)