Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Winter 2021 Senior Reading Suggestions: Home

A selection of new arrivals in the library for your reading pleasure.

NEED TO FIND A NEW CRIME SERIES?:

We can gather together suitable books, magazine articles, videos and websites for any topic or inquiry outline you give us. So just ask! Recent examples include:

Whenever I arrive at a big shopping centre I head straight to Dymocks to check out the New Releases and Top 10 Bestsellers.  I'm always pleased to see that most of the books in the top 10 are books that we already have in our collection.  It reassures me that we are doing a great job in keeping up to date with what is popular and topical.  As a Librarian, there is nothing more satisfying than when somebody asks me if we have a popular new book in the library that they just saw in a bookshop and I'm able to say "yes we do"!

If you are ever at a bookshop and see something that you like the look of, please take note of the book details and come and see us.  We have a request form that students and staff can fill out requesting books to be added to the collection.  Alternatively, you can email me directly with your request.  The best thing about requesting books is when the book arrives you will be the first person to receive it!

The Top 5 Bestsellers at Dymocks this week are listed below.  Impressively, we have 1, 2 and 3 in the collection and 5 is on order:

 

If you have been trying to find a book for a long time with no luck, check out Book Depository.  Not only do they have one of the world's largest collection of books (over 20 million), they also deliver worldwide for free!

ClickView is handy even over the holidays. Firstly it may fill in gaps where you have missed a series and even has limited Foxtel content. You also have access to a workspace where you can save up to 20G of video content to watch later (traveling with children overseas on a budget anyone?). Sign on using your school email and your normal laptop password.

Below are 3 great series that have recently been on television.  I absolutely loved "Old People's Home for 4 Year Olds".  It was heartwarming to see these adorable little 4 year old's interacting with the old people.  It was an awesome experiment for both sides.  Next is Season 9 of "Grand Designs Australia" which is one of my favourite lifestyle programs.  It was nice to see a couple in North Perth building their dream home in this series.  Finally, a great series that is true to my heart, food, in particular, bread!   "For the Love of Bread" was fantastic and after watching it I was driving around the western suburbs trying to find the best artisan sourdough bread for myself (which, by the way, was NSS in Cottesloe).

Check the TV Guide:

The ClickView TV Guide brings you the best recommendations for educational programmes from free to air television, saving you time and energy. Every fortnight the ClickView Curation Team will look ahead in the free to air broadcasting schedule and find programmes that are relevant to your classroom. If you've requested a programme, it will automatically be added to your Workspace with the ads removed when it airs. You can even browse by channels.

We also encourage you to allow us to create a Cambridge Library eMembership on your behalf. This will give you access to online resources, digital audio and emagazines. Just fill out a membership application form available at the front desk of Forrest Library and we will do the rest on your behalf.

For example:

Forrest Library has a collection of online databases that provide access to:

  • Popular magazines and scholarly journals
  • Current newspapers and newswires
  • Television and radio transcripts
  • Audio and video clips
  • Photographs and pictures

You can browse by publication name e.g. Choice, Australian Gourmet Traveler or general topic e.g. bicycling. Endless opportunities for the family genealogist to sift through archived publications to solve family mysteries.

Have you tried LibriVox? It provides free public domain audiobooks read by volunteers from around the world. Classics, mysteries, fairy tales etc. For example:


Short on time? Then grab a short story which aims to be read in one sitting. There are many collections available through Forrest Library. Just look for the sticker that say "SHORT STORIES". There are also many online collections. For example:

There are also many free ebooks and audiobooks available online:

Lastly, never underestimate the power of learning something new yourself:


HINTS: Open Culture will give you some ideas you might like to highlight in this section e.g. free lectures, free ebooks, free text books etc

NoveList, is our newest resource. It is the complete readers' advisory solution, engages readers and connects communities. Do you find it difficult to find READ-ALIKES? Similar authors? Similar titles? This is the solution.

  • Add new link to a NoveList list eg a popular author, award winners etc
  • Add new link to a NoveList list eg a popular author, award winners etc
  • Add new link to a NoveList list eg a popular author, award winners etc

From Rudyard Kipling read by Ralph Fiennes to Late Night Tales read by Benedict Cumberbatch. Search Spotify for many more collections. For example:

Contact

Library 93479723

+61 8 93479723

Quick links

Portal

Catalogue

LibGuides index

Report a problem

Library hours:

Mon- Fri 7.45am to 5.30pm (normal school day)