Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

12ATLIT - "The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood" by: Home

This guide will support students to develop a creative, informed and sustained interpretation supported by close textual analysis

The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood

Task:

Construct a close reading of a selected passage from The Handmaid’s Tale, focussing on the use of prose narrative conventions within the extract. There will be a choice from 5 short passages from the novel. 

Featured books:


Use general search terms. You can choose the option of "Search other sources" and Oliver will search through a variety of resources. Choosing the "Advanced search" will allow you to limit to specific formats or collections e.g. Non-fiction narrative. Both of these options are right next to the search box:

Infographics:

Slideshow:

Interactives:

Test your knowledge and understanding of the book and its themes by practising with these quizzes. 

Who was you least favourite character in the Handmaid's Tale
June (Offred): 1 votes (33.33%)
The Commander: 0 votes (0%)
Serena Joy: 0 votes (0%)
Nick: 0 votes (0%)
Janine (Ofwarren): 0 votes (0%)
Rita (Martha): 2 votes (66.67%)
Aunt Lydia: 0 votes (0%)
Moira: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 3

Online encyclopaedia:

Online encyclopaedias are great for short, concise and reliable information. It may be best to access these articles from the Online encyclopaedias page through the Hale portal. Ready made citations are available.



 
  • Variety of reading levels
  • Quality resources including text, images, videos and ‘Web’s Best Sites’
  • Read aloud facility
  • Size your font up or down
  • Ready-made citation

 

One-stop Search

Research databases
Limit Your Results
Google Web Search

YouTube

Online databases:

A online collection of magazine and newspaper articles as well as interview transcripts, images and videos. You can sort your results by publication, full text versions and even date. Online databases are available through the portal and many require specific login details.

Both EBSCOhost and Gale INFOTRAC have specialized databases so use these first. 

Suggested articles would include:

Search EBSCOhost online database:

Research databases
Limit Your Results

Search Points of View Reference Centre

Australian/NZ Points of View
Limit Your Results

Use search terms "Handmaid's Tale" to return a range of articles that

  • present multiple sides of an argument
  • are aimed at helping you develop persuasive arguments
  • provide overviews of controversial issues that relate to the novel.

Tick the "Full Text" box if you need the full article and not just a brief summary.

Search Google:

Google Web Search

It is important to refine your search terms as your understandings grow and information gaps become more obvious. Make sure you regularly review your focus questions or task sheet guidelines. It is best to use Google Advanced Search to narrow your search further and save yourself time. Employ some advanced Google modifiers to avoid wasting time.

Search YouTube:

YouTube

Reference Generator:

It is important to provide evidence of using a variety of reliable resources. Use the online Reference Generator available through the Portal to create your citations. Make sure you alphabetically sort them afterwards. Click here for a Hale School guide to referencing.

A sample bibliography for 3 resources suggested on this page would look like:

Atwood, M 2020, Handmaid's Tale, Hodder Education, London​

Atwood, M 2020, Study Guide to Margaret Atwood The Handmaid's Tale Retrieved 3 September 2020, https://brians.wsu.edu/2016/10/12/study-guide-to-margaret-atwood-the-handmaids-tale-1986/

The Handmaid’s Tale 2020. Britannica School. Retrieved 3 September 2020, from https://school.eb.com.au/levels/high/article/The-Handmaids-Tale/631637


REMEMBER! HALE USES HARVARD

Forrest Library hours and contact details

Contact

Library 93479723

+61 8 93479723

Quick links

Portal

Catalogue

LibGuides index

Report a problem

Library hours:

Mon- Fri 7.45am to 5.30pm (normal school day)