Skip to main content

History Subject Guide: Home

A collection of suggested resources for Hale historians

Featured Print Resources

Encyclopaedias

Online encyclopaedias are great for concise and correct overviews. 



 
  • Variety of reading levels
  • Quality resources including text, images, videos and ‘Web’s Best Sites’
  • Read aloud facility
  • Size your font up or down
  • Ready-made citation


 
  • Easy-to-understand articles
  • Built-in research tool
  • Text-to-speech tool can read aloud

Clickview

ClickView offers a large selection of video content from free to air channels and selected Foxtel content. Search by keywords or browse through their subject collections e.g. History. Once you have found something you can stream it or save it to watch later on your Workspace (1G free online storage). You may also save to your local device.

Forrest Catalogue

Search the Forrest Library Catalogue using general search terms to find information books about your history topic:

Alternatively you can browse the shelves using Dewey to guide you:

Dewey Subject
900    Geography and History
920    Biography
930    Ancient History
940    European History
950    Asian History
973    United States History
994    Australian History

Britannica Overview

Need some help in effectively using Britannica? Check out this overview:

Advanced Google Searches

Make sure you use Advanced Google or try out handy Google modifiers.

One Stop Search Box

Research databases
Limit Your Results

 

Google Web Search

 

YouTube

Websites

School History - UK teacher, Andrew Field has developed this site for history teachers and students. It has useful links and worksheets on a variety of history topics, such as European Exploration, Shakespeare and the Industrial Revolution.
The History Guide - This site by Steven Kreis, Adjunct Assistant Professor of History at Meredith College has a collection of full text lectures from three university courses on Ancient and Medieval, and Twentieth Century European History. 
Australian History - This website has brief explanations about significant periods in Australia's history. Topics include: Ancient history (Pre-1788), Colonisation (1788-1900) and Post-Federation (1901-2000).
A History of the World - Using 100 objects from the British Museum, BBC Radio has constructed a website that explores a history of the world. The radio broadcasts are available for download and participants can explore a history timeline and contribute their own suggestions.
World History Charts - A world history timeline with maps and brief information about different periods and regions in history. The timeline includes famous people, events and maps. Categories include science, culture, religion and politics.‚Äč
World History Crash Course - YouTube Playlist: You-Tube videos by Crash Course cover the following World History topics: Agricultural revolution, Indus Valley civilization, Mesopotamia, Ancient Egypt, Persians and Greeks, Buddha and Ashoka, Chinese History, Alexander the Great, Ancient Rome, Dark Ages, Crusades, Renaissance, French Revolution, Industrial revolution, Nationalism, Imperialism, etc.

For more suggested links use WebLinks. Search under your topic for selected links suited to the Australian curriculum.

Primary Source Suggestions

National Archives of Australia - VRROOM: An online education resource for teachers and students, providing easy access to over 1,000 primary sources from the National Archives' collection. The resources on Vrroom have been developed to align with the current curriculum, and in partnership with organisations such as: ABC, Curriculum Corporation, through the National Digital Learning Resource Network and Department of Veterans' Affairs.
European Primary Sources : The European History Primary Sources (EHPS) is an easily searchable index of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitised primary sources, archives and digital sources relating to the history of Europe. Each website that is listed in EHPS has a short description and is categorised according to country, language, period, subject and type of source.
National Archives of United Kingdom: The UK National Archives provides an exhibition of primary sources for a variety of topics from Medieval to contemporary times. 
Online Primary Source Collections - University of Western Australia:  A list of some online primary source collections. Please note that it's not a complete list.
Online Collection - British Library: Aims to act as a journey through time and place is a source of primary materials for History and English. The site uses the Library's maps, prints and drawings, photographs and documents and rare early sound recordings. Features include the virtual exhibitions and themed tours.
The Avalon ProjectThe Avalon Project is a digital library of documents relating to law, history and diplomacy. The project is part of the Yale Law School Lillian Goldman Law Library.
Trove - National Library of AustraliaFind and get over 506,979,943 Australian and online resources;
books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more.
British PatheExplore the new online home of heritage, full of great documentaries, fascinating interviews, and classic movies - all on demand.
AP ArchiveAP Archive is one of the most comprehensive film and video collections in the world. A unique perspective on the most significant moments of modern history.
History Channel - Famous Speeches in History:  Witness famous speeches and hear timeless words spoken by historical figures. Listen to recordings of speeches online on History.com. 

Top 100 Speeches of the 20th Century by Rank - American RhetoricFull text and audio database of Top 100 American Speeches

Great Speeches of the 20th Century - The Guardian:  The Guardian and Observer's unique series of the best speeches of the last century. 

Databases

EBSCOhost online database: Offers a broad range of full text and bibliographic databases designed for research. 

Hints:

  • Add limits to Source Types (Left hand side) e.g. Newspapers (Domestic) and Magazines (Domestic)
  • Sort results under Relevance - Date Newest

History Reference Center offers full text from more than 2,400 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for 135 leading history periodicals, more than 61,100 historical documents, 57,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 110,200 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video. 

EBSCOhost Database Tutorials

Reference Generator

It is important to show your teacher you used a variety of reliable resources. Use the online Reference Generator available through the Portal to create your citations. Make sure you alphabetically sort them afterwards.

A sample bibliography for 3 resources listed on this page would look like:

Google Search Operators & Commands n.d., Chart, SlideShare, accessed 14 September 2016, <http://image.slidesharecdn.com/googlesearchoperatorlix-ray-140923031955-phpapp02/95/google-search-operator-li-x-ray-2-638.jpg?cb=1411442897>.

Green, J 2013, World History CrashCourse, online video, 3 September 2013, accessed 14 September 2016, <https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLBDA2E52FB1EF80C9>.

National Library of Australia n.d., TROVE, Australian Government, accessed 14 September 2016, <http://trove.nla.gov.au/>.