We can gather together suitable books, magazine articles, videos and websites for any topic or inquiry outline you give us. So just ask! Recent examples include:
Add you text here...
Add your text here...
We also encourage you to allow us to create a Cambridge Library eMembership on your behalf. This will give you access to online resources, digital audio and emagazines. Just fill out a membership application form available at the front desk of Forrest Library and we will do the rest on your behalf.
Forrest Library has a collection of online databases that provide access to:
You can browse by publication name e.g. Choice, Australian Gourmet Traveler or general topic e.g. bicycling. Endless opportunities for the family genealogist to sift through archived publications to solve family mysteries.
ClickView is handy even over the holidays. Firstly it may fill in gaps where you have missed a series and even has limited Foxtel content. You also have access to a workspace where you can save up to 20G of video content to watch later (traveling with children overseas on a budget anyone?). Sign on using your school email and your normal laptop password.
The ClickView TV Guide brings you the best recommendations for educational programmes from free to air television, saving you time and energy. Every fortnight the ClickView Curation Team will look ahead in the free to air broadcasting schedule and find programmes that are relevant to your classroom. If you've requested a programme, it will automatically be added to your Workspace with the ads removed when it airs.You can even browse by channels.
Remember that ClickView has multiple films for you to watch online including:
Have you tried LibriVox? It provides free public domain audiobooks read by volunteers from around the world. Classics, mysteries, fairy tales etc. For example:
Short on time? Then grab a short story which aims to be read in one sitting. There are many collections available through Forrest Library. Just look for the sticker that say "SHORT STORIES". There are also many online collections. For example:
There are also many free ebooks and audiobooks available online:
Lastly, never underestimate the power of learning something new yourself:
HINTS: Open Culture will give you some ideas you might like to highlight in this section e.g. free lectures, free ebooks, free text books etc
NoveList, is our newest resource. It is the complete readers' advisory solution, engages readers and connects communities. Do you find it difficult to find READ-ALIKES? Similar authors? Similar titles? This is the solution.
Thousands of movies streaming for free, thanks to the generous support of your public library. Use your public library membership to create an account. Kanopy partners with public libraries and universities to bring you an ad-free films and series that can be enjoyed on your TV, mobile phone, tablet and online. Click here to browse their catalogue. I am impressed with their collection of documentaries. Titles include:
Kanopy Kids is a collection of movies and shows for kids available in public libraries only. Your public library offers unlimited plays in Kanopy Kids, so your kids are free to explore enriching, educational and entertaining films and TV series. Click here to check out Kanopy Kids!
Finally have that block of extended reading time for a challenging title? Try a literary award winner. There are many lists but this general site will give you some choices to search for using Forrest Library catalogue. Please feel free to complete a purchase request if you want us to consider buying a title for our collection. These are available from the front issue desk.