Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Call Number: 363.46 BAI
Publication Date: 2011
Call Number: 363.46 BAC
Publication Date: 2004
Forrest Library Catalogue
Oliver Forrest Library catalogue allows you to search for Titles, Authors, Series & Subjects plus conduct an Advanced search and Search Other Sources for various educational databases and online encyclopedias that the library subscribes to.
Reference Generator Middle and Senior Levels
Creates citations for a comprehensive range of sources – copy & paste into a bibliography.
Abortion - Encyclopaedia Britannica
The expulsion of a fetus from the uterus before it is able to live outside the womb (in human beings, usually about the 20th week of gestation) is called abortion. When abortion occurs spontaneously, it is often called a miscarriage. Abortion can also be intentionally caused, or induced.
Abortion - World Book Online
Abortion is the ending of a pregnancy before birth. Early in a pregnancy, the fertilized egg that grows and develops is called an embryo. After three months, it is usually called a fetus.
Abortion: An Overview
General information regarding abortion is presented. The author reviews legal, religious, and ethical questions connected to debate related to the medical procedure and its practice in Australia and New Zealand. A history of Australian abortion law is presented and the debate between pro-life and pro-choice factions regarding gestational age and the foetus' right to life is addressed.
Abortion Politics, Australia, 1998
This article introduces a series of article on the politics of abortion Australia. Laws on abortion; Case study on abortion in Western Australia; Findings on abortion services and research from the National Health and Medical Research Council; Media reports of abortion.
Point: Abortion Is an Individual's Right
The article presents an argument for abortion. The author argues that women should have the right to choose whether or not to carry a pregnancy to term and that increased public education related to pregnancy prevention and early pregnancy intervention in Australia is needed. Particular emphasis is placed on abortion as a medical procedure rather than as a legal or ethical question. Minors seeking abortions, late-term abortions, and emergency contraception are also discussed.
Counterpoint: Abortion Rights Are Bad for Women's Rights
The article presents an argument against abortion in Australia. It is the author's opinion that abortion is harmful to women and promotes discrimination and gender inequality. The physical and psychological risks connected with abortion are examined and the social causes underlying the decision to terminate a pregnancy are explored. The author argues that abolishing abortion in Australia would force the government to address societal causes contributing to discrimination against women
Abortion Rights Debate PDF (Download onto your Computer Desktop)
Abortion Rights Debate
Abortion rights address the circumstances under which a woman may obtain a legal abortion in a specific jurisdiction.
It is a divisive issue as the rights debate frequently raises ethical and practical discussions in relation to the law, morality, science, medicine, sexuality, autonomy, religion and politics.
This book considers the options that are presented with an unplanned pregnancy, and how these options relate to a number of ethical concerns and legal safeguards internationally, and more specifically, in Australia.
EBSCO: Points of View USER ID: haleschool
Points of View Reference Centre is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications.
GALE Student Rescources in Context Student Resources In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Learners can access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more.
Weblinks Quality links selected by teachers and librarians to empower learning. The searchable online database with thousands of teacher-reviewed, approved and annotated web sites. 80 to 100 new sites added monthly.