Skip to main content

11EN - Twelfth Night - Shakespeare: Home

Please make this a floating header

Task outline:

Write a well-constructed and researched (1000 word) essay in response to ONE of the questions as listed in the topic outline below:

Featured books:

Context:

In his diary, Manningham writes that at the Candlemas feast: 'wee had a play called Mid ‘Twelve Night, or what you will’; much like the commedy of errores, or Menechmi in Plautus, but most like and neere to that Italian called Inganni.'

Online encyclopaedia:

Online encyclopaedias are great for short, concise and reliable information. It may be best to access these articles from the Online encyclopaedias page through the Hale portal. Don't forget Britannica has ready made citations for you to use.



 
  • Variety of reading levels
  • Quality resources including text, images, videos and ‘Web’s Best Sites’
  • Read aloud facility
  • Size your font up or down
  • Ready-made citation

Online databases:

Online collections of magazine and newspaper articles as well as interview transcripts, images and videos. You can sort your results by publication, full text versions and even date. Online databases are available through the portal and many require specific login details available on the Online databases' page.

Both EBSCOhost and Gale INFOTRAC have specialized databases so use these first.

Suggested articles would include:

  • Laughter in Twelfth Night and Beyond: Affect and Genre in Early Modern Comedy: An essay is presented on the prism of early modern understanding of emotion as passion, with the author outlining early modern attitudes to laughter and showing how such understanding helps generate the two plots of the play "Twelfth Night" by William Shakespeare. Topics discussed include the main sources on the status of laughter in early modern England, humanist heritage and the moderation of passions, and the Italian/Illyrian love plot and the figure of passionate "translation."

  • The serious comedy of Twelfth Night: Examines the didacticism in the Shakespearean comedies through William Shakespeare's play "Twelfth Night." Details of how awareness of death is a didactic tool in Shakespearean comedy; Comments on the inevitability of death and passage of time in the drama; Impact of how encounters with death and their resultant warnings on the lives of each character.

  • Roles, wrongs, and revenge: Malvolio in Twelfth Night: Bad enough to have a name like Malvolio--literally, ill-will. Even worse to have the role of designated party-pooper. Worst of all to have desires for love or power made the means of abuse and humiliation. No wonder, in his last torment, he vows revenge.

One-stop Search:

Research databases
Limit Your Results
Google Web Search

YouTube

Suggested videos:

This video is broken into chapters. To make this helpful as you read and view your way through the play, here are the corresponding Act number and Scene number, for each chapter:

  • Ch 1 credits
  • Ch 2 Act 1,sc.1, 2
  • Ch 3 Act 1, sc.3
  • Ch 4 Act 1, sc4,5
  • Ch 5 Act 2, sc 1,2
  • Ch 6 Act 2, sc.3
  • Ch 7 Act 2,sc.4
  • Ch 8 Act 2,sc.5
  • Ch 9 Act 3,sc.1
  • Ch 10 Act 3, sc.2,3,start of 4
  • Ch 11 Act 3 sc.4 (line 50) to Act 4.sc 1
  • Ch 12 Act 4 sc 2
  • Ch 13 Act 5 sc 1.
  • Ch 14 Credits.

Thousands of movies streaming for free, thanks to the generous support of your public library. Use your public library membership to create an accountKanopy partners with public libraries and universities to bring you an ad-free films and series that can be enjoyed on your TV, mobile phone, tablet and online. Titles include:

  • Twelfth Night—More Comic Tools - Episode 8 of How to Read and Understand Shakespeare: In Shakespeare's encompassing vision of Twelfth Night, observe how the young characters' movement toward self-knowledge and mutual love contrasts with plot elements of isolation and rejection. See how the remarkable heroine Viola, a figure of grace, acts as an agent of redemption for the entire world of the play.

  • Twelfth Night - This production is part of a famous series produced by BBC of all of William Shakespeare's plays. The resulting films, renowned for their loyalty to the text, utilized the best theatrical and television directors and brought highly praised performances from leading contemporary actors.

Reference Generator:

It is important to provide evidence of using a variety of reliable resources. Use the online Reference Generator available through the Portal to create your citations. Make sure you alphabetically sort them afterwards. Click here for a Hale School guide to referencing.

REMEMBER! HALE USES HARVARD

A sample bibliography for 3 resources suggested on this page would look like:

Amanbayeva, S. (2014) ‘Laughter in Twelfth Night and Beyond: Affect and Genre in Early Modern Comedy’, Early Modern Literary Studies, 17(2), pp. 1–21. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=lfh&AN=100052189&site=lrc-live (Accessed: 30 March 2020).

Marciano, L. (2003) ‘The Serious Comedy of Twelfth Night: Dark Didacticism in Illyria’, Renascence, 56(1), pp. 3–20. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=lfh&AN=11754329&site=lrc-live (Accessed: 30 March 2020).

United Kingdom 2020. Britannica School. Retrieved 30 March 2020, from https://school.eb.com.au/levels/high/article/United-Kingdom/110750#44848.toc