Skip to main content

12EN ATAR - Different Perspectives and Attitudes: Home

Create a meaningful text exploring changing or diverse attitudes using selected visual images

Task outline:

Produce a digital multimodal presentation that is either persuasive or interpretive (not analytical). Your focus will be on exploring changing or diverse attitudes to a particular topic. You should provide visual images as examples of these attitudes. Aim to create a meaningful, significant text.

Your presentation should be pitched at Australian adults in 2018 (but must be suited to a school context.) Length must be between 4 and 5 minutes.

A transcript of the spoken parts of your speech must be submitted to Turnitin by the due date.

Please acknowledge all sources of information and images in a bibliography at the end of your presentation. Hint: Use Reference Generator available through the Portal.

See the full task outline below:

Choosing a topic:

For your investigation to work, you will need to choose a topic about which people have had markedly different attitudes over time or in different cultures or simply from one person to the next (i.e. controversial). You will then need to be able to locate images that reflect those different attitudes. Select from the categories listed below. Please discuss your choice with your teacher.

  • An issue
  • A philosophy or ideology
  • A lifestyle choice
  • A group identity (ethnicity, religion, age, gender, class, occupation, family role etc)
  • An individual person

It may be helpful to browse EBSCO Reference Centre - Points of View.  This is a full text database with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of selected current issues. ​For example:

  • Divorce
  • Abortion
  • Cigarette smoking
  • Feminism
  • Marijuana Legislation
  • Sole parents
  • Gun control
  • Women in politics

Oliver catalogue search:

Use general terms to see what information books may be available on the shelves by searching the catalogue. Keep an eye out for images within the text that could be scanned. Book covers may also provide images worthy of inclusion. HINT: The photocopier is also a scanner.

For example:

There is also an "Issues in society" series which may be useful as they provide a range of clippings, cartoons and images around a range of topics.

Online encyclopaedias:

Online encyclopaedias are great for short, concise and correct information. It may be best to access these articles from the Online encyclopaedias page through the Hale portal. Ready made citations are available.



 
  • Variety of reading levels
  • Quality resources including text, images, videos and ‘Web’s Best Sites’
  • Read aloud facility
  • Size your font up or down
  • Ready-made citation


 
  • Easy-to-understand articles
  • Built-in research tool
  • Text-to-speech tool can read aloud

 

For example, for a "veganism" and "vegetarianism" search I found: 

Make sure you check out their suggested media and websites. World Book has a "Back in Time" search option which will highlight past versions of articles. I skimmed these articles and used some of the important events to further search for images and news coverage from that time period.

Online databases:

A online collection of magazine and newspaper articles as well as interview transcripts, images and videos. You can sort your results by publication, full text versions and even date. Online databases are available through the portal and many require specific login details.

For example, for a "veganism" and "vegetarianism" search I found: 

EBSCOhost image collection:

The EBSCOhost Image Collection database consists of more than 1 million total images in these categories, broken down as follows:

  • Photographs
  • Images from Canadian Press, Getty Images, and UPI
  • Maps from Antenna Audio
  • Photographs from public domain sources

The images consist of a wide array of photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other areas of coverage include contemporary and historical photos of people, places, and the natural kingdom.

A user may access the Image Collection databases by clicking the Images/Video button on the toolbar at the top of the EBSCOhost screen. You have the option of filtering your results by various categories including:

  • Photos of people
  • Natural science photos
  • Photos of places
  • Historical photos

Upon searching, you will receive a Result List, which will include citation information as well as thumbnail images. Clicking on any thumbnail image will display the full size image. Images can then be printed or saved.

A copyright statement appears at the bottom of the page for each image which may help you when constructing your citation for that image.

Resource exploration - Sample:

A sample resource exploration has been created for the topic "veganism" and "vegetarianism".  I firstly found background overviews e.g. encyclopaedia article, then used these to specifically search for images that may be of use to my final presentation. I also allowed that I used a variety of image types including advertisements, cartoons, web pages, news & magazine articles, book covers etc over an extended period of time. I would strongly recommend you gather your resources and complete basic notes before you start creating your thesis and presentation transcript.

Kim Constable, Vegan bodybuilder from Irish News article "20 Questions: Scuplted vegan Kim Constable is living the life of her dreams"

Presentation suggestion:

SWAY is an option worth looking at as it allows you to start from scratch as well as from a topic or a document e.g. research notes with support images. So on checking, I could start with a SWAY pre-populated with headings, some information and even supportive images for general topics like "feminism" or "divorce". After that further customization is available such as adding audio recordings, video recordings and clips as well as grouping images for emphasis or discussion development. Tutorials are available. 

Advanced Google search:

Narrow your search down by refining your search terms using Google Advanced Search. Use Google modifiers to speed up your searches.

Google Image search:

It is important to refine your search terms as your topic develops. Don't forget to follow the website trail of interesting images as they may lead to better images to support your presentation. Google Images offers suggestions at the top of the results. For example, a search for "feminism" gave the options for "first wave", "second wave" etc. 

You could also nominate "Black and white"  and "Photo" using the Google Images - Tools option which may gather older images.

Reference Generator:

It is important to provide evidence of using a variety of reliable resources. Use the online Reference Generator available through the Portal to create your citations. Make sure you alphabetically sort them afterwards.

A sample bibliography for 3 resources suggested on this page would look like:

BIBLE, A 2019, ‘Meat-Less Meat-Heads’, Muscle & Fitness, vol. 80, no. 7, pp. 120–127, viewed 20 August 2019, <http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=anh&AN=136764038&site=ehost-live>.

Kim Constable, vegan bodybuilder and creator of the Sculpted Vegan fitness and eating programme 2018, Photograph, The Irish News, viewed 20 August 2019, <https://www.irishnews.com/lifestyle/2018/09/26/news/20-questions-scuplted-vegan-kim-constable-is-living-the-life-of-her-dreams-1441055/>.

Vegetarianism 2019. Britannica School. Retrieved 20 August 2019, from https://school.eb.com.au/levels/high/article/vegetarianism/74954