Skip to main content

12LIT - Les Murray: Home

A brief guide to Les Murray's life and his poetry

Featured information books

Audio support

Gale Infotrac allows you to download audio of their articles. Here are a few samples:

It is a great idea to have the text article open and read along with the audio. Go to Hale Portal - Library - Online Databases and scroll down until you find Gale Infotrac. Search for more articles on Les Murray and his poetry.

 

LISTEN

READ

(N.B. This is an editable version so perhaps highlight as you read)

Audio The Impossible Infinite: Les Murray, Poetry, and the Sacred
Audio A Conversation with Les Murray
Audio Les Murray

Clickview - Les Murray : Peter Thompson talks to Les Murray, one of the world's greatest wordsmiths. He is considered to be one of 100 Australian Living Treasures, whose bush-bred themes and straightforward Aussie characters have charmed generations of readers.Murray's words can be thrilling, but they can also be fiery and combative. It's clear that poetry has helped him tackle the world.


 


Les Murray: International Poets in Conversation (Podcast): American poet Kevin Young talks to Les Murray about Australian poetry and culture.


 

Les Murray Poetry Reading Part 1: Click here for Part 2.


Australian Literature 102: Les Murray is undoubtedly one of Australia’s greatest living poets – and an international literary legend. The New Yorker has described him as ‘now routinely mentioned among the three or four leading English-language poets’.


 

Les Murray on Killing the Black Dog: Click here for Part 2


 

Google Scholar

Another link available on Google Scholar includes:

 

Analysis and Commentaries

TROVE - Les Murray

Check out all the records held for Les Murray in TROVE, National Library of Australia.

Trove helps you find and use resources relating to Australia. It's more than a search engine. Trove brings together content from libraries, museums, archives, repositories and other research and collecting organisations big and small. A list of contributors and partners whose collections are included in Trove can be viewed online.

EBSCO articles

EBSCO is a large online database of magazine articles, interviews, ejournals and ebooks. ​Its specialty database, Literary Reference Centre is a comprehensive literary reference database. LRC is a comprehensive database that combines information from over 1,000 books, major literary encyclopaedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. N.B. You may need to access these pages through Hale Portal - Library - Online Databases.

Possibilities include: