Skip to main content

7HCC - Ancient Greece - A Significant Individual: Home

Year 7 History - Ancient Greece - A Significant Individual

TASK OUTLINE:

Purpose: You are to conduct a Historical Inquiry to develop important research skills and to develop a greater knowledge and understanding of a significant individual from Ancient Greece. 

Task Requirements:

You are to use the accompanying template document on the portal to complete your work.

In the template, you are to complete the following:

  1. Focus Questions: Questions to guide your research.
  2. Research Notes: Structured notes in point form, in your own words, and organised under subheadings.
  3. Bibliography: All resources referenced correctly using the Hale School Reference Generator and listed alphabetically.

Research Topics:

You are to research all of the following topics in your notes:

TOPICS Knowledge and Understanding Required
Relationships (Family and Friends) Try to find out if they had any known family members (e.g. wife son, daughter, brother, sister, mother and  father). Also, any friendships. Not any interesting information you might find.
Early Life and Influences This is the period of life between birth and a person entering a career and attaining important positions. Usually, age 0 to the mid-20s includes a person’s early life. This might include where they were born and/or lived during this time, any education or important stories about their childhood, and their youth (teenager and as a young adult). Also, how they might have been influenced by other peoples or events around them during this phase of their life.
Career and Achievements and/or failures This includes information about their role(s) and achievements. Achievements and failures will vary for different figures (focus more on achievements).
Death This includes where, when and how they died - if it is known.
Legacy Legacy relates to any ways in which they contributed to history which is still valued today and remembrance. It might include depictions of them in literature film, and statues, memorials etc. dedicated to them

Printing and Turn-it-in: On the due date your work in the template will need to be printed and submitted. The structured notes (those in your own words) and source analysis must also be copied into a separate word document and put into turn-it-in. The work will not be marked until both actions have been taken.

4. NOTE-MAKING:

This assignment is all about providing evidence of the following:

  • Devising focus questions suited to a historical inquiry
  • Note-making
  • Creating a bibliography

SET UP RESEARCH TEMPLATE:

This is an essential step you must not miss. The research template contains your focus questions, notes and bibliography. You are expected to copy your structured notes into a separate Word document and submit them to TurnItIn for analysis.

1. DEFINE THE TASK:

1. Open and save a copy of the task sheet. HIghlight keywords and important phrases

2. Check the meaning of any words you are unsure of

3. Write the DUE DATE in your diary now

Do not move forward until you really understand the task. Discuss it with your teacher or check out a simple task outline.

2. EXPLORE THE TOPIC

1. Devise a series of focus questions for each of the 5 topics outlined by your teacher. Start simple and then move onto higher order thinking questions. Add these to the research template.

2. Check the task sheet for topics, keywords and phrases you should include in your first round of focus questions.

3. Be prepared to revise, add, combine and even cross through focus questions throughout your research. Make sure you date any revisions, change the font colour to red and add a quick comment as to why you modified your question.

You might like to watch the "Devising Focus Questions" video tutorial.

3. FIND RESOURCES

Suggested resources have been gathered for you in the tabs above. Start with encyclopaedia articles as they provide short overviews of your person that will only contain verified information (websites and videos may not).

Insert the raw information into your research template. Start note-making keeping in mind your topics and focus questions.

PRIMARY SOURCE ANALYSIS

When you analyze a primary source, you are undertaking the most important job of the historian. There is no better way to understand events in the past than by examining the sources that people from that period left behind. Remember that there is no one right interpretation. However, if you do not do a careful and thorough job, you might arrive at a wrong interpretation.

You might like to use any of these tools or templates to step out your analysis including:

Reference Generator

It is important to provide evidence of using a variety of reliable resources. Use the online Reference Generator available through the Portal to create your citations. Make sure you alphabetically sort them afterwards.

A sample bibliography for 3 resources suggested on these pages would look like:

‘Socrates’ 2008, in Ancient History Encyclopaedia, accessed 8 November 2017, <https://www.ancient.eu/socrates/>.

Socratica 2015, Socrates: Biography of a Great Thinker, 13 January, accessed 8 November 2017, <https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ci55Qx_RYto&t=18s>.

Stuttard, D 2014, A history of ancient Greece in fifty lives, Thames & Hudson, London.